In The Pines

Take me to the woods and
bury me beneath
the trees, leaves drooping in the
cold winters’ wind.

Take me to the woods and
we’ll gaze at the stars as they
die.
they flicker across a darkened sky.
bursts of vibrance that flicker and fade,

whimpering.

I am
enraptured.

Take me to the woods and
one evening we’ll find the Erl-King and Red Riding Hood
sitting beside the campfire, trading stories.
i’ve a grimm tale for them

are you lost?
are you scared?

Take me away.
Take me to the edges of Earth, where only solid
stillness remains.

we’ll scream like mother courage.

in perfect silence.

Leave a Reply

